Organisational Structure


Head office of Town Planning Department is situated at Jaipur and headed by Chief town Planner. It has 6 Zonal offices at Divisional Headquarters except Bhartatpur (Ajmer, Bikaner, Kota, Jaipur,  Jodhpur, Udaipur)  and 2 Regional offices at Alwar and Bharatpur. Zonal offices are headed by Senior Town Planner and Regional Offices are headed by Deputy Town Planner. In addition to above, 25 Districts have been covered by District Town Planning units. Additionally, department has a unit under Chief Town Planner (NCR) to coordinate and undertake planning and coordinating projects in Rajasthan Sub-Region of NCR.

Organization structure chart is placed annexure ‘A.’ 

Interface with Urban Local Bodies/Public

The master plans/sector plans prepared by this department are used by Urban Local Bodies to undertake development of the town through schemes/ projects besides giving permission to individuals, developers, builders, etc. for physical development. The department does not have any public dealing directly, however, the master plans prepared by it affects every citizen of the town. Any permission being given by the Local Body, Development Authority or UIT is in the context of these master plans and therefore, every case related to land development considers these documents for approval. The master plans/sector plans etc. give proposed land use due to which everyone wants to know the land use assigned to his khasra nos./land Flow of information like maps/schemes/etc. takes place between Zonal Offices/UIT’s/Development Authorities/Director Local Bodies/RHB in internet for faster clearance. The department also receives change in land use cases of individual applicants through ULBs. In this manner there is a indirect interface with the public.