The National Capital Region cell of Town Planning department is a part of the Ministry of Urban Development and Housing of the Government of Rajasthan with Chief Town Planner (NCR) as the Head of the cell and having its jurisdiction covering the two districts namely Alwar & Bharatpur in the State of Rajasthan.

The National Capital Region (NCR) is a metropolitan region, which includes the Delhi region and the surrounding districts of neighboring states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. The NCR is India's largest and world's 2nd largest urban agglomeration with a population of over 22 million inhabitants.

Evolution of Concept of National Capital Region (NCR)

·        Delhi has been experiencing phenomenal growth of population since 1951 because of migration into the city.

·        This growth has contributed to increasing congestion and shortages of civic amenities. The problems of land, housing, transportation and management of essential infrastructure like water supply and sewerage would become more acute.

·        The concept of the NCR was first mentioned in 1962. The plan was to develop a metropolitan region around Delhi, in order to avert escalating pressure of population.

·        The National Capital Region (NCR) in India was constituted under the NCRPB Act, 1985.