Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission

The Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission was launched by GoI on 3rd Dec. 2005, in order to cope with massive problems that have emerged as a result of rapid urban growth for planned development of identified cities with focus on projects of Urban Infrastructure and to draw of a coherent urbanization policy/strategy to implement projects on mission mode. The duration of mission is for a period of seven years beginning from 2005-06 i. e. up to 2011-12. The mission period has been extended up to 31.03.2014 to complete the works sanctioned before 31.03.2012.

The main thrust of strategy of urban renewal envisaged in mission is to ensure improvement in urban governance to make ULBs and parastatals financially sound for which state Government, ULBs and parastatals are required to accept implementation of agenda of reforms at the time of sanction and has to sign MoA with GoI.

The mission has further been categorized under following Sub-Missions.

  • Urban Infrastructure and Governance (UIG)
  • Basic Services to Urban Poor (BSUP)
  • Procurement of Buses.
  • Integrated Housing and Slum Development Program (IHSDP)
  • Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT)

The numbers of cities covered presently under above sub-Missions are:

1. UIG- 2 cities, 2. BSUP- 2 cities, 3. Buses- 2 cities, 4. IHSDP- 58 cities, 5. UIDSSMT- 35 cities

S.No. Title Download
    Important Information
    : : visitor counter
    Webpage Last Updated on : Jun 25, 2018