History/City Profile

History/City Profile

Bali is located at 25.18°N 73.28°E[3] near the Aravalli Range. It is a constituency of Pali district. It has an average elevation of 298 metres (977 feet). In the east it has Aravali Hills and fort of Kumbalgrah is visible from Bali. In the north it has two rocky Hillocks where temples of Hinglaj Mata and Dantiwara are located respectively. The Mithari river is seasonal and flows only during the rainy season.

The nearest railway station on the network of Indian Railways to reach is Falna,which is 7 km from Bali. The nearest airport is Udaipur.


Bali is represented in the center under Pali (Lok Sabha constituency), while in state it is represented under the Bali (Rajasthan Assembly constituency). Present MLA is Mr. Pushpendra Singh Ranawat. It is a municipality of class IV. There are 20 wards for the municipality. Presently Bali has BJP board and Chairperson is Mr. Lakhmaram.

History/City Profile


As of 2011 India census,[4] Bali had a population of 19,880. Males constitute 50.67% (10,007) of the population and females 49.33% (9,873). Bali has an average literacy rate of 64.28%, lower than the national average of 74.04%; with 74.51% of the males and 53.91% of females literate. 11.72% of the population is under 6 years of age. In 1897 its population was about 6000.[5] The majority of population of Bali consists of Jain and Marwadi community, which is also the most prosperous community. However most members of this community have settled elsewhere in India, where they carry out business and visit their ancestral town mostly to perform marriages in the family.

The Bali Assembly constituency is one of the six Rajasthan Legislative Assembly constituencies in Pali district. In the past, it has also elected the former Chief Minister Bhairon Singh Shekhawat as their MLA in 1993 and 1998.[6]

Demographic distribution of religions in Bali








♦Includes 0.4% Christians and 0.2% Sikhs

Population growth through the years

As a tehsil

Bali tehsil has 93 villages under 39 gram panchayats and two municipalities, Falna and itself. Gram Panchayats are Amaliya,Barwa, Bedal, Bera, Bhandar, Bhatund, Bheetwara, Bhimana, Bijapur,sela, Bisalpur, Boya, Chamunderi, Dhani-Sela, Doodni, Falna Gaon, Goriya, Guralas, Kakardi, Khimel, Kotbaliyan, Kothar, Koyalwao, Kumtiya,sandla, Kuran, Latara, Lunawa, Lundara, Malnoo, Mirgeshwar, Mokampura, MundaraNana, Paderla, Peepla, Perwa, Sena, Sesli, Sewari and Shivtalao.[7][8] The tehsil has an area of about 1304.26 square kilometres.[9]

Population of the tehsil is 2,23,027 (2001 census). Out of which 1,83,802 is rural while 39,225 is urban. Male constitutes 1,11,572 and female population is 1,11,455.[10] The tehsil has a good population of tribes. " The main education school is Govt High Secondary. the School provide science, commerce and art stream education. A government science college was established here in 2013." "The Fabindia School" was established here in 1992, which is today a co-educational, senior secondary school with 1000 students including 40% girls.[11] Ms Deepika Tandon is the head of the institution.